Riceville Area Community Care Grant Celebration and an Additional Award

posted on Wednesday, February 28, 2018

“We’ve all heard about the little town that could,” said Barb Schwamman, Superintendent for Osage and Riceville School Districts. “Well, Riceville is the little town that does.”

We had such an incredible time last night celebrating the community of Riceville and surrounding towns in Howard and Mitchell counties that were recipients of CommunityCare grant awards. Since 2016, more than $100,000 has been awarded to local organizations for community-betterment activities.

“The way I look at it you are either good or lucky,” said Mayor of Riceville, Dean Eastman. “And we are fortunate to be a little bit of both. As a town we have opened our doors to animal agriculture and have seen tremendous growth as a result. Businesses are growing, school enrollment has increased significantly, young people are moving to town and we’re developing as a community. We’re very lucky to have a company like Iowa Select Farms that is committed to growing right alongside with us.”

In attendance at the awards ceremony were community members and representatives from 25 local groups and organizations that received CommunityCare grants, including fire and ambulance services, school districts, conservation boards, booster clubs and community daycares.

In addition to celebrating past CommunityCare award recipients and enjoying a delicious meal served by the local FFA chapter, the event was an opportunity for Iowa Select Farms to announce the re-commitment of an additional $100,000 for the community of Riceville and the greater Howard and Mitchell County area.

“In the last year alone we’ve built three new sow farms and welcomed nearly 60 new employees to our team in the area and we couldn’t have done it without the support of local community members and businesses,” said Jennifer Crall, Public Affairs Director for Iowa Select Farms. “We are grateful for your support and are excited to expand the CommunityCare grant program and strengthening communities in Howard and Mitchell counties.”

The additional $100,000 donated to the Riceville Area Development group are to be used for community-betterment activities. Organizations applying for the funds must be located in Mitchell or Howard counties and identify within the core areas of: local, school-based initiatives; conservation, recreation and environmental stewardship initiatives; emergency services, fire departments; and community betterment projects that increase the quality of life for residents.

In addition to the Iowa Select Farms Community Care grants, the Deb and Jeff Hansen Foundation will continue to support the community of Riceville and Howard and Mitchell counties through ongoing programs targeted to area food pantries for hunger relief, the Power Snack™ program for qualified school-age children and the Pork Care package program for Iowa servicemen and women who live in Howard and Mitchell county.

Local residents wanting further information about the Iowa Select Farms Community Care program should contact Jennifer Crall, Iowa Select Farms Public Affairs Director at 641.648.4479 or [email protected].